No Sick-days for Writers

Image by lamichad

Image by lamichad

I’m so sick I can barely talk, barely sit in this chair to type. Yet, I’ve been up since 7am and already written a poem, set my editing goal for the day, and begun working on polishing my rock of a novel into a precious stone.

What is wrong with me? Am I insane? Probably. Feverish? Definitely. In love with what I do? Absolutely.

You see, the only thing that could make me more miserable than I am is not being able to write. Whatever bug I’ve picked up has already taken too much away from me. I’m not going to yield my writing time into the bargain. So I sit and search out commonly overused words in my novel (that, had, was, it, there, just, anything ending in “-ly”), and I tax my poor brain for ways to make the sentences better. I already blew my brain cells on writing a poem, so this is harder than it sounds right now.

But, as I often say, persistence wins the day. I’ll keep at this until I’m healthy and I’ll be able to look back and say, “See? That wasn’t a waste of time. Now I can make the bigger edits and not worry about the smaller ones.” Which is silly since I’m doing things backwards. You should do big edits first, small ones after. But hey, I’m doing what I can, and that’s got to count for something.

~ by lamichaud on January 15, 2013.

4 Responses to “No Sick-days for Writers”

  1. There is always something you can do as writer when you are sick. Whether it is on your current WIP, something else you have in mind once the current project is finished, or brainstorming just to keep the ideas and creativity flowing during the downtime.

    Since I get sick easily, I give myself a three day window to figure out whats wrong and how bad it is. After that, I do what ever I can to keep me going.

Comments are closed.

 
