The Next Big Thing

Image by lamichaud

So, I’ve been blogging for about a year now, and have been tagged for a couple of these “pass it on” type of things. At first, I didn’t do them since I had no clue what I was doing, then I was really busy for a while. In December, Rachel Robins tagged me to do this, and I meant to, but just forgot. Heather Sedlak just tagged me, reminding me that I’d forgotten to do it when Rachel tapped me for it. So here I go now, in honor of both of them.

The Next Big Thing

Here’s how it works: Each week an author provides his or her answers to the ten questions below and then tags five additional writers, each of whom answers the questions on the subsequent Wednesday, again tagging five writers, and so on.

1. What is the working title of your next book?

The Chronicles of Errahtyre Book One: The Demon’s Gate

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Oddly enough, it came from another book. OK, so that’s not odd after all. In the story, there’s a girl who was raised by a sorceress who says she made the girl out of wax (a lie). It got me thinking about what it would be like to actually be the construct of a witch or wizard, and not to know it at first. Right then, my first character was born, from there, I developed  the antagonist, the supporting characters, and then the plot and setting.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

It’s high/epic fantasy, but I write so much science fiction that I can see it turning my story in to science fantasy. I’m trying to decide if I want to get rid of that influence, or if I should just let things stand.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Hmm… I didn’t actually imagine any of my characters looking like any of the actors I know, so this is a tough one. I did some searches and the only two characters I could find decent matches for were two of the secondary characters that become more important in book two. I thought Lily Cole would have been great for Eedie when she (Lily) was twelve. Saoirse Ronan would be really good for Todanny. They’re both lovely women with the kind of spunk they’d need to pull off my girls. They aren’t what I imagined, but they’d work.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Seeking vengeance for their mother’s murder, Beryl and Nickel join an anti wizard army, but are soon in over their heads when they save a girl who’s not what she seems, the wizard becomes possessed by one of the few free demons, and they’re the only ones in the right place to stop him from opening the demon’s gate and unleashing fiery destruction on the world.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I understand that self publishing can be a really good way to go, but that it’s a lot of work. I get pretty overwhelmed with everything in life as it is, so I’d like to have it represented by an agency, just to simplify things for me. Letting an agent and publisher do the technical stuff sounds pretty ideal to me.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

The first draft took about a year since I was writing about thirty pages a month (and not always that much). I know I could have written it much faster, but I was learning so much that rushing through it without giving myself the chance to avoid making mistakes that I’d only just learned about seemed counterproductive. Next book I mean to churn out in less than six months. ::crosses fingers::

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
 

Another hard question! Honestly, there isn’t a lot of recent high fantasy to compare this to, and it’s pretty different from the books I used to read. There, are of course, some of the standard tropes like dragons, magic, hidden lands, demons, a journey, etc. But these aren’t the dragons from Eragon, or The Hobbit (I told myself I wasn’t bringing Tolkien into this, but it just happened, I guess). They’re more like the dragons from one of  Patricia A. McKillip’s books, The Cygnet and the Firebird.

My characters are also different from the usual heroes of high fantasy. They aren’t the chosen ones, they aren’t weathered adventurers coming back for another journey. They are the heroes because they were in the right place and had the fortitude to do what was necessary to save the world.

I also have two strong girls in my three POV characters, which is still a new thing in high/epic fantasy.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

This particular story? All my favorite authors, my passion for writing, my love for epic fantasy, my fear that epic fantasy was dead, my dislike of some of the stifling patterns of epic fantasy, I could go on. Mainly, I’m just writing a book that I would have loved to read if I’d found it at the bookstore.

10. So who’s up next?

Amarilys Acosta, Katie Kenyhercz, Tiffany Avery, I choose YOU!

~ by lamichaud on January 30, 2013.

 
